The 2020 Robert Merritt Awards

This year's ceremony will takes place on Monday, March 30th, 2020, via the Theatre Nova Scotia YouTube Channel

About the Awards

The Merritt Awards celebrate Nova Scotia’s outstanding talent in the theatre industry. Named for the late Dalhousie Theatre professor, Robert Merritt, the awards were established in 2002 and annually highlight the wealth and calibre of theatre creation and production in the province.

Professional productions are juried throughout the year, and exceptional performances, direction, design and more are honoured the following March.

The event also features special presentations: Theatre Nova Scotia Legacy Award, Volunteer Award, TNS Scholarship, Neptune's Wes Daniels Design Award and the Neptune Chrysalis Emerging Artist Award.

Tickets for the awards show are open to the public.

Contact:   coordinator[at]

The TNS Robert Merritt Awards will be broadcast for all to view on Monday, March 30th, 2020 starting at 8pm via the Theatre Nova Scotia YouTube Channel.

Enjoy virtual Red Carpet with Avery Jean Brennan on Instagram Live starting at 7:30 via Theatre Nova Scotia Instagram

Interact with us throughout the ceremony on Theatre Nova Scotia's Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Make the Merritt Canape as created by Grace MacDonald!

In the Halifax area, take advantage of discounts on spirits, cider and beer offered by our sponsors:

Compass Distilling 20% using code:Merritt

Garrison Brewing 20% using code:Merritt

Lake City Cider 25% using code:Theatre25

The Merritt Awards Ceremony is made possible through the generous support of our sponsors. Sponsors for 2020 include:

Event Sponsor

Support for Culture

Ceremony Sponsor


Individual Award Sponsors:



Education through the Arts


Nova Scotia High School Drama Festival


Celebrating Nova Scotia's theatre talent

Want to stay on the loop?


Support Live Theatre

If you’re looking for support, have a theatre-related question, or a great idea for theatre in Nova Scotia that you’d like to share, get in touch with us!